Published On: August 25th, 2023

By Kimberly Leung, P.E., T.E., Western District President

Thank you to the 1600+ attendees who joined for the ITE Joint International and Western District Annual Meeting in Portland! It was a busy meeting with a robust technical program, Young Member events, and social and networking opportunities. Our Annual Meetings also serve as a venue to highlight the accomplishments and contributions of our Sections, student chapters, and members throughout the year, and I would like to share the awards presented during the meeting:

Central California Section

  • Young Professional Achievement Award – Katherine Lee, Caltrans

Hawaii Section

  • Section Activities Award (Small Section)
  • Student Chapter Momentum Award – University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
  • Student Regional Travel Scholarship – Ruimin Lin, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
  • Individual Achievement Award – Jennylyn Tapat Morrill, Wilson Okamoto Corporation

Oregon Section

  • Section Activities Award (Large Section)
  • Student Traffic Bowl – Oregon State University
  • Outstanding Graduate Award – Kezia Suwandhaputra, Oregon State University
  • Transportation Project of the Year – Clackamas Regional Center Mobility Improvement

Riverside San Bernardino Section

  • Section Momentum Award

San Francisco Bay Area Section

  • Kell Competition Award – UC Berkeley
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Award – Garett Davis, UC Berkeley
  • Mentor Award – Mark Spencer, W-Trans

Southern California Section

  • Student Chapter Activities Award – University of Southern California
  • Student Regional Travel Scholarship – Alex Wang, USC
  • Outstanding Educator Award – Dr. Roxana Javid, USC
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Walter Okitsu, KOA Corporation

Western District

  • Outstanding Technical Paper Award: ITE Bicycle Signals Resource Guide

As part of our awards presentations, our Public Relations Committee produced videos recognizing our Individual Achievement Award and Lifetime Achievement Award winners: Jennylyn Tapat Morrill and Walter Okitsu.

Election results were announced during the Annual Meeting. Please join me in congratulating our incoming 2024 Western District Officers:

  • President – Doug Smith
  • Vice President – Pat Marnell
  • Secretary-Treasurer – Josh McNeill
  • International Director – Peter Koonce

Share This

News Archive