In Spring 2017, the Western District introduced its newest Student Initiative, an annual regional travel scholarship for students to attend the District’s Annual Meeting. The Western District aims to achieve more regional diversity in the students attending our meetings by providing travel assistance to students who may not otherwise attend.

The Student Regional Travel Scholarships provide financial support for up to two (2) students to attend the upcoming ITE Western District Annual Meeting. The District will select one student from each region (Region 1 and Region 2), and the recipient from each region receives a $500 travel scholarship. Please see the scholarship application to determine your school’s region.

Student Regional Travel Scholarship Application

Year Winner School Region
2023 Ruimin Lin University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Region 1
Alex Wang University of Southern California Region 2
2022 Christian Galiza Portland State University Region 1
Jacob Hamada Cal Poly San Luis Obispo Region 2
2021 No Selection Region 1
Region 2
2020 No Selection Region 1
No Selection Region 2
2019 Peter Yu Washington State University North
Mitchell Hadfield Brigham Young University East
Joceline Suhaimi University of California, Los Angeles South
Amy Huang University of California, Berkeley West
2018 Cadell Chand Oregon State University North
Jordi Berrett Brigham Young University East
Dario Qiu University of California, Los Angeles South
Henry Hammel University of California, Berkeley West
2017 Joseph Claveria Oregon State University North
Monirehalsadat Mahmoudi Arizona State University East
Vanessa See California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo South
Jianqing Wu University of Nevada, Reno West