The Western District Young Professional Achievement Award recognizes young professionals who have shown exceptional dedication to the transportation profession through ITE service, have significant accomplishments that benefit the profession of transportation engineering/planning, and/or have participated in mentoring transportation professionals.

The award was established in 2005. The recipient of the award will be presented with a plaque at the Western District Annual Meeting and is selected from a group of nominees by a committee chaired by the Western District Career Guidance Chair.  The Young Professional Achievement Award recipient will receive $500 and a plaque.  Starting in 2015, the awardee will also be selected as the Western District’s Rising Star and nominated by the District for ITE International’s Young Member of the Year award.

To be eligible for the Western District Young Professional Achievement Award, the young professional must be 35 years old or younger on January 1 (of year receiving the award) and be a member of ITE Western District.

Nominations for the Young Professional Achievement Award must include the following documents:

  1. Completed International ITE Rising Star application form [Click here to access form]
  2. One (1) testimonial from a current or past supervisor (200 word max.)
  3. Three (3) examples of specific project experience including your role (150 word max./each).

Deadline: Nominations due March 1st to the Career Guidance Committee Chair

Award Winner
2023 Katherine Lee
2022 Cameron Shew, P.E., T.E.
2021 Daniel Lai, P.E.
2020 Julie Kentosh, P.E., PTOE
2019 Patrick Marnell, P.E.
2018 Lou Davenport, P.E., PTOE
2017 Kimberly E. Leung, P.E., T.E.
2016 Devin Moore, P.E., PTOE
2015 Neelam Dorman, T.E.
2014 Justin Link, P.E., T.E.
2013 Jonathan Hofert, P.E., T.E., PTOE
2012 Sam Morrissey, P.E.
2011 Karthik Murugesan, P.E.
2010 Danielle R. Scharf, P.E., PTOE
2009 Alejandro Angel, Ph.D., P.E., PTOE
2008 Cathy Leong, P.E.
2007 Peter Koonce, P.E.
2006 Alyssa Reynolds, P.E., PTOE
2005 Christopher M. Monsere, Ph.D., P.E.