Student Paper Award

The purpose of the Student Paper Award is to encourage student participation in transportation. The award recognizes outstanding accomplishment in preparing independent and original research/investigation of transportation engineering subjects. Papers are reviewed by the Student Initiatives Chair from the prior year to determine the best paper of the year. Established in 1979, the winning student receives $500, a plaque, and free registration for the Western District Annual Meeting.

Award Winner
Paper Title
2019 Rui Yue, University of Nevada, Reno Microsimulation Analysis of Traffic Operations at Two Diamond Interchange Types
2018 Jianqing Wu, University of Nevada, Reno An Automatic Procedure for Vehicle Tracking with a Roadside LiDAR Sensor
2017 Mohammadreza Hashemi Exploratory Analysis of Roadway Departure Crashes Contributing Factors Based on Classification and Regression Trees
2016 Monirehalsadat Mohmoudi, Arizona State University Toward a City with Fully Cooridinated Vehicle Sharing System
2015 Nick Ferenchak, University of Colorado-Denver Spontaneous Order of Pedestrian and Vehicle Interactions in Shared Spaces
2014 Britton Hammit, University of Wyoming The Application of a Connected Vehicle Weather Data System
2013 Yue Zhao, University of Nevada, Reno A Multi-Criteria-Based Guideline for Marked and Unmarked Pedestrian Crosswalks at Unsignalized Intersections
2012 Xiaoyue (Cathy) Liu, University of Washington An Analytical Framework for Managed Lane Facility Performance Evaluation
2011 Runze Yu, University of Washington Quantifying the Relationship between Near-Road Concentration of Black Carbon and Traffic Flow Observations
2010 PeiFeng Hu, University of Nevada, Reno Traffic Counting Errors Due to Occlusion in Video Image Vehicle Detection Systems
2009 Cody Glasnappuan, Montana State University Fuel Cost Parameter in Transportation Demand Models
2008 Xuan Wang, University of Nevada, Reno* Evaluation of Lane-by-Lane Detection at Signalized Intersections using Simulation
2007 Xuan Wang, University of Nevada, Reno An Economic Analysis Approach to Assessing Protected Only Versus Protected Permitted Left-turn Controls at Signalized Intersections
2006 Ivana Vladisavljevic, University of Utah Impact of Cell Phone Conversation While Driving on Car Following Behavior
2005 Dhruvajyoti Lahon, University of Utah Developing a Forecasting Model for Managed Lanes
2004 Emily Drennen, San Francisco State University Economic Effects of Traffic Calming on Urban Small Businesses
2003 Lin Zhang, University of Hawaii at Manoa Freeway Travel Time Estimation: Case Study in Honolulu
2002 Brent Turley, Brigham Young University Dancing Diamonds in Highway Work Zones
2001 Christopher Cherry, University of Arizona The Historical Significance of Present Transportation Issues
2000 Lani Alyson Tribbett, Montana State University An Evaluation on the Effectiveness of Dynamic Curve Warning Systems at
Reducing Vehicle Speed in the Sacramento River Canyon
1999 Glen Thurgood, Jr., Brigham Young University Roundabouts: Geometric Innovation or Just Going in Circles?
1998 David Horn, Oregon State University Airport Terminal Design Consideration
1997 Samson Teshome A critical analysis of the Alameda Corridor
1996 Renatus Mussa, Arizona State University Evaluation of Driver-based Freeway Incident Detection
1995 Kara Kockelman, University of California, Berkeley Which Matters More in Mode Choice: Income or Density?
1994 Alexander Zupanski, Cal Poly Pomona Design Considerations for Toll Road Signs
1993 Fabian Cevallos, San Jose State University The Truck Factor: Basic Freeway Segments
1992 Douglas O’Neill Airport Gate Utilization – Measuring the Effect of a Common-Use Strategy
1991 Gary Thomas, Arizona State University Intelligent Vehicle/Highway Sytems: Getting SMART in the Future
1990 Chris Clemow, University of Idaho Proposed Delay Estimation Model Used to Determine Level of Service for All-Way Stop Controlled Intersections
1989 Bill Baranowski, Brigham Young University
1988 Konstadinos Goulias, University of California – Davis Quasi-Simulation of Auto Type Choice: Minimum Requirements of Alternatively Fueled Vehicles
1987 Edwin Lagergren, University of Washington Traffic Sign Retroreflectivity Measurement Using Human Observers
1986 Katherine Hunter-Zaworski, Oregon State University Traveling Disadvantaged and the Advanced Light Rail Transit System – A Report on Accessibility Issues
1980 Anne Taylor Harris, University of Utah*
* Also International ITE Award Winner

ITE Western District