

Western District 2011 Annual Business Meeting Minutes

Held in Anchorage, Alaska Tuesday, July 12, 2011

President Edgar Perez led a moment of silence for District members who passed away since the last Business Meeting, including Robert Bernstein, Thomas Ferrara, John Komaru, Paul Steiner, and John Taylor. His State of the District report showed membership in the District's 16 sections totaled 4,696, a 6 percent decrease. He presented the steps to improve the District according to its Strategic Plan.

International President Robert Wunderlich provided an update on ITE's activities. During his presentation, he obtained a pledge from the audience to stop using mobile phones while driving.

Secretary-Treasurer Walter Okitsu showed that while total District financial assets appeared healthy at over \$300,000 for the past 4 years, accounts not tied to the Endowment Fund have shrunk rapidly because of loss of membership, reduction in WesternITE ad revenue, operating subsidies to the Endowment Fund, and Annual Meeting registration discounts to students. To avoid depleting cash reserves, he presented a plan to reduce expenditures by 25 percent, increase dues by 10 percent, and have the Endowment Fund, presently at \$280,000, begin to pay for Student Initiatives immediately instead of waiting for the balance to reach \$500,000. Even with these measures, he projected a \$17 thousand deficit for the coming year. To avoid depleting the District's financial reserves the Board will pursue a future special vote of the membership to increase dues to \$40. The budget was approved by voice vote of the members.

President Perez announced that the San Diego Section would host the 2017 District Annual Meeting. Because the 2016 International meeting would be held in Anaheim, he invited sections outside of California to submit for the 2016 District Meeting. He announced he was leaving the District, having been transferred by his employer to Qatar. He accepted the tellers' committee report and announced the newly-elected 2011-2012 District officers:

President Alyssa Reynolds Vice President Walter Okitsu Secretary-Treasurer Karen Aspelin International Director Monica Suter (3-year term begins January 2012)

The meeting was adjourned until the 2012 Annual Meeting in Santa Barbara.