Outstanding Transportation Educator Award

Nominations Due April 15th

In order to receive the Western District Outstanding Educator Award, an individual must demonstrate extraordinary creativity in teaching, take exceptional measures to spark student interest in the transportation profession, provide unwavering encouragement for student endeavors or show unequaled service to the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) in the past year. If you’d like to nominate an educator: (1) complete the nomination form, (2) attach a narrative, no more than two pages in length, addressing their contributions in the areas of teaching, research and ITE service (use the questions on the nomination form), and (3) return the nomination to the Career Guidance Chair. A panel composed of the previous year’s winner, the Western District past president, and the Career Guidance Chair will select the winner. This year’s Outstanding Educator will be recognized at the Western District Annual Meeting and receive a plaque commemorating the award.

Nominating Form for the Outstanding Educator Award

Award Winner
2019 Dr. Rhonda Young, Gonzaga University
2018 Dr. David Hurwitz, Oregon State University
2017 Xiaoyue “Cathy” Liu, University of Utah
2016 Dr. Kevin Chang, University of Idaho
2015 Dr. Roger Lindgren, Oregon Institute of Technology
2014 Eugene Jud, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
2013 Eric Shen, University of Southern California
2012 none
2011 none
2010 none
2009 Grant Schultz, Brigham Young University
2008 Patrick Gibson, Fehr and Peers
2007 none
2006 Dr. Robert Bertini, Portland State University
2005 none
2004 Peter Clark, Cal Poly Pomona
2003 Dr. Shashi S. Nambisan, P.E. – University of Nevada, Las Vegas
2002 Dr. Jodi Carson – Montana State University