Employer Recognition Award

The Employer Recognition Award of the Western District of the Institute of Transportation Engineering (ITE) is an effort to recognize employers for supporting young professionals (professionals 35 years or younger) in ITE activities, technical training and professional development/mentorship.  This award was created to recognize admired employers who acknowledge that young professionals are today’s leaders in the profession and set goals for their personal development.

Growing the young professionals into seasoned professionals are keys to ITE’s future.  As a means of fostering individual young professional participation in ITE activities, ITE Western District has developed a program to help Sections and Chapters recognize those employers who encourage their young professionals to get involved.  Special recognition will go to those organizations that exhibit exemplary support evidenced by efforts such as:

  • Encouraging young professionals to participate in local, district and international ITE activities.  This can include attending meetings, web seminars, preparing articles or publications for presentation at ITE conferences and technical journals.
  • Provide opportunities and supporting advanced training/technical development for young professionals.
  • Providing a model and support young professionals in professional development/mentoring.

Young professionals who want their organization to be considered for recognition should complete the nomination form detailing their organization’s level of encouragement and support and submit the completed form to the Western District Career Guidance Chair. The award will be presented at the upcoming Western District Annual Meeting.

A young professional is defined as an ITE member 35 years or younger.

The application for the Employer Recognition Award is due by May 1.

Award Winner
2018 Kittelson & Associates, Inc.
2017 Iteris
2016 Wilson Okamoto Corporation
2015 Kimley-Horn
2014 URS Corporation
2013 Sanderson Stewart
2012 City of Phoenix Street Transportation Department
2011 San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency
2009 DKS Associates (Portland, Oregon)
2008 Fehr and Peers (San Francisco Bay Area)